Sell on Amazon Sign in
This article applies to selling in: United Kingdom

Order Cancellations

If a buyer asks you to cancel an order and you have not yet dispatched and confirmed the shipment, you can cancel it in Manage Orders or use an Order Cancellation feed.

When you cancel an order, Amazon automatically updates the order status in the buyer's Amazon account and sends an email notification to the buyer.

  • If you have dispatched and confirmed the order, tell the buyer that the order is already on its way and ask them to return it to you for a refund.
  • If you have not yet confirmed the order as dispatched, you may simply cancel the order because the buyer is not charged for an order until you've confirmed dispatch.

Both cancellations and returns are a normal part of most sales operations.


  1. Amazon notifies and charges the buyer.

    When you confirm a shipment, we send the buyer an email notification with your delivery information and charge the buyer's selected payment method for the purchase. Do not contact the buyer with your own shipment verification.

  2. Amazon credits earnings from the buyer's order to the seller.

    After you have confirmed dispatch, your earnings are credited to your seller account to be disbursed to your bank account with your next settlement.

  3. The buyer receives the order.

    Amazon invites the buyer to provide feedback about the service provided by the seller.

Sign in to use the tool and get personalised help (desktop browser required). Sign in


Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback
How can we improve this help page? Note: This form doesn’t create a support case. Please specify what you think is wrong with the content itself.
1000
What was helpful?
1000
Thank you again for your help!
Thank you for your feedback. If you have more questions, please Contact Us.

Reach Hundreds of Millions of Customers

Start Selling on Amazon


© 1999-2019, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates