Listing on Amazon.com - Tax Questions

Hey guys,

Just registered on Amazon.com’s seller program to expand my sales over there.

During the registration process there quite a lot of fairly complicated tax related questions.

I think I answered it all correctly but I just want to check with you guys.

If I’m a UK resident, UK passport and with no affiliation to the USA and am keeping all my stock in the UK and sending it all out myself (no FBA) to buyers in the USA shopping on amazon.com then am i right in thinking I will not have to deal with USA taxes at all?

In other words, do I need to do anything extra or can I just keep sending out my stuff to the potential new American buyers and paying tax to HMRC like usual?

Thanks!

Hey, thanks for your reply.

The reason I asked was mostly to get reassurance from others that I’ve understood the general rules correctly. Because quite a lot of questions were asked (much more than when registering at the UK site) and I don’t know the US system as well I wanted to make sure that I roughly understand it correctly.

If I’m selling online through Amazon to the USA on amazon.com BUT my stock is in the UK at all times and I have no personal connection to the US (USA passport etc) then I’m not expected to be personally paying tax to IRS?

This was just my understanding reading Amazon’s stuff before I registered and during the actual process. I don’t remember any mention of $20,000 or 200 items though? Is there a difference between registering with IRS and actually paying the IRS money.

I’m not trying to avoid them btw, just want to understand my obligations as a UK seller selling to USA customers through amazon.co.uk

Same the other way around really… do USA sellers selling on amazon.co.uk pay tax to HMRC?

I remember reading somewhere that they don’t. Am I wrong?

I have an accountant so I can talk to him (and will) but I figured I might get more accurate (and quick) input from sellers here who have already investigated this.